Last updated: February 19. 2013 7:12PM - 191 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Big Ten award season began Monday with Penn State's Michael Mauti and Allen Robinson leading the way for the Nittany Lions.

Mauti captured the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year award while Robinson was named the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year.

The pair led six Lions who received first-team All-Big selections.

Robinson and Mauti were joined by senior defensive tackle Jordan Hill as consensus first-team picks. Redshirt freshman tight end Kyle Carter was a first-team media choice while senior center Matt Stankiewitch and junior guard John Urschel were named to the coaches' first team.

Senior linebacker Gerald Hodges was a consensus second-team pick. Stankiewitch and Urschel both appeared on the media’s second team.

Mauti and Robinson become the first Penn Staters to win their respective awards, which were created last season.

The final awards will be announced Tuesday, with Mauti (Defensive Player of the Year), Deion Barnes (Freshman of the Year) and Bill O'Brien (Coach of the Year) all possible candidates.

Hill also received accolades earlier in the day along with teammate Sam Ficken. Hill was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week for his career performance against Wisconsin, turning in a personal-best 12 tackles, including three for loss. Eight of those tackles -- including all three behind the line of scrimmage -- came in the fourth quarter and overtime of the 24-21 win.

Ficken also shined against the Badgers completing his impressive season-long turnaround by hitting all three field goals he attempted, including the eventual game-winner in overtime. The sophomore finished the year with 10 straight makes after opening the year 1-for-5 in a one-point loss to Virginia..

Rounding out the accolades were All-Big Ten honorable mentions for sophomore CB Adrian Amos (both teams), freshman DE Deion Barnes (both), Carter (coaches), senior OT Mike Farrell (both), senior QB Matt McGloin (both), senior CB Stephon Morris (both), senior DE Sean Stanley (media) and sophomore TB Zach Zwinak (media).

Hill was Penn State’s sportsmanship award recipient.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com