Last updated: March 16. 2013 9:35PM - 845 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:
20 YEARS AGO – 1993

The Dallas High School cheerleaders will compete in the finals of the National High School Cheerleading Championship in Orlando, Florida February 19-23. The team earned the trip by winning first place in one of 33 regional tournaments held around the country. To raise money for the trip, the cheerleaders served as waitresses Sunday at Pizza Hut in Dallas, with all tips going toward their travel expenses. Participants included Jennifer Bryant, Beth Ann Wagner and Sara Cuba.

Boy Scout Troop 165 of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints has adopted a two mile stretch of Manor Road in Kingston Township. Members participating in Saturday's cleanup included: leaders Jim Kelly, Dan Davis and Ed Pitcavage. Members: Jeremy Moshier, Jim Pitcavage, Mike Thompson, Mike Pitcavage, Mike Smith, Glynn Wildoner and John Mack.

Lisa Heck, Back Mountain student from West Side Area Vocational-Technical School, won first place in the Distributive Education Club of America Competition held at the Lehigh Valley Mall. Lisa took two written tests and took part in a role play.

30 YEARS AGO - 1983

Back Mountain Wrestling Club has an added Touch of Class in its program this year. A cheering squad has been organized under the direction of Louise Roper and Patty Jarrett. Members of the squad are: Kelly Janosky, Danielle Randazzo, Melissa Roper, Becky Mathers, Ruth Ann Selenski, Stephanie Baird, Tracey Farber, Theresa Mathers, Tami Roper, Laura Lynn Selenski, Kathy Adams, Mary Jean Baird, Cherud Honeywell, Michelle Moreck and Chris Walters.

Eight students in Dallas Senior High School's sophomore class are N.E.D.T. (National Educational Development Tests) Certificate Winners. The students attained a composite score on the test at the 90th percentile or better as measured by national norms. Certificate winners are: David Dillon, David Garber, David Hislop, Brian Moore, Eric Supey, Kenneth Swingle, Keith Wasilewski and Nancy Washicosky.

Eight students recently represented Dallas High School in the Northeast District Band Festival sponsored by the Pennsylvania Music Educators at Northwest Area High School, Shickshinny. The students are: Ray Jacobs, baritone horn; Marilyn Miller, alto sax; Robert Baird, cornet; Philip Miller, bassoon; Richard Steckiel, bass; Jack Kloeber, clarinet; Richard Monte, cornet; and Richard Carle, bass.

Emilie Peters and Elaine Kuehn, Bloomsburg State College sophomores from Shavertown and Dallas, respectively, are members of a new women's varsity swimming team which participated last Saturday at Penn State in a tri-swim meet with Mansfield.

James G. Dick, Dallas, has been named chairman of the board of trustees at College Misericordia, it was announced by Sister Miriam Teresa, RSM, president of the college. Voted into office at a recent board meeting at the college, Mr. Dick succeeds Sister Mary Honors Kroger, RSM, who served as chairman of the board since 1970.

50 YEARS AGO - 1963

Heart Fund drive officials for the Back Mountain Area met recently at the home of Mrs. Fletcher C. Booker Jr., Back Mountain Chairman. The co-chairman is Mrs. Thomas P. Shelburne of Centermoreland. Committee members are: Mrs. Chester Glahn, Bunker Hill; Mrs. F. Allan Nichols, Trucksville; Mrs. Peter Wolfe Jr., Sweet Valley; Mrs. Harold Davenport, Franklin Twp.; Mrs. Andrew Lavix, Lehman Twp.; Mrs. William Pierce, Harveys Lake; Mrs. W. Wayne Dornsife, Dallas; Mrs. Joseph Reynolds III, Trucksville; Mrs. Frank Summa, Dallas; Mrs. William Hughes, chase; Mrs. Donn Innes, Huntsville; Miss Elizabeth Wardan, Shavertown; Mrs. Joseph Lopez, Shavertown; Mrs. John Ferguson, Lake Silkworth; Mrs. J.L. Weir, Trucksville; Mrs. John Burke, Westmoreland Hills; Mrs. Earl Gregory Jr., Carverton Road; Mrs. David Mathers, Trucksville; Mrs. James Nixon, Trucksville; Mrs. Donald Thompson, Trucksville; and Mrs. Richard Prynn, Carverton.

Mrs. George McCutcheon was installed as president of Dallas Women of Kiwanis at their monthly dinner meeting at the Irem Temple Country Club. Mrs. Edwin Thompson is first vice president; Mrs. Alfred Ackerson, second vice president; Mrs. Thomas Kreidler, secretary; Mrs. John Blasé, secretary; and Mrs. Harry Lefko, corresponding secretary.

60 YEARS AGO - 1953

Seven members of the Kunkle Volunteer Fire Company received instruction in use of the resuscitator Monday night at Harveys Lake. The new equipment, donated in December by Harveys Lake Lions Club, was demonstrated by Chief Edgar W. Hughes. Taking instruction were Allen Montross, Allen and Jason Kunkle, Tom Landon, Fred Dodson, Conrad Honeywell and Rollins Spencer.

Dick Williams was elected president, Al Rath first vice president of Harveys Lake Rod and Gun club at Monday night's reorganization meeting held at Herman Kern's. Carleton Kocher took the office of second vice president, Fred Dodson, third; Peg Robbins is secretary, Herman Kern, treasurer.

70 YEARS AGO - 1943

Dallas High School Band now has its third leader since the opening of the school term. George J. Griffith, son of Mr. and Mrs. George M. Griffith, Wilkes-Barre, has been temporarily appointed as a substitute teacher of social subjects and director of the band pending his election by Dallas Borough School Board. Mr. Griffith fills the position vacated by David Smith of Pottsville, who was inducted into the army after serving only 11 days of his appointment to succeed Robert Henderson who is on a military leave of absence.

Information for Only Yesterday is taken from back copies of the Dallas Post which is 121 years old. The information here is printed exactly as it originally appeared.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com