Monday, July 14, 2014


May 30. 2013 4:36PM
Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

20 YEARS AGO - 1993

New officers of Harveys Lake Women’s Service Club were installed at the May meeting. They are: Joyce Birt, president; Linda Schuler, vice president; Heide Cebrick, treasurer; and Jane Balavage, secretary.

The students in Dallas Middle School recently celebrated Earth Day by holding a poster contest, sponsored by the middle school student council, under the direction of Miss Norine Amesbury. The theme for the contest was Environmental Awareness on a Global Scale. The winner was Amy Kapral who was awarded a savings bond for her effort. Second place winner Courtney Kryston and third place winner Brenda Karavitch were each given gift certificates for their accomplishments.

30 YEARS AGO - 1983

Recently the Trinity Presbyterian Church of Dallas held its first God and Family Award Service, when five Cub Scout members of the parish received their religious emblems. The awardees were: Mark Chappell, James Fry, Walter Fry, Chris Jones and Ryan Jones.

Brownie Troop 695 and friends recently attended “The Princess and the Magic Pea” at College Misericordia. Brownies who attended the play included Melissa McEvoy, Kim Tommaselli, Robyn Mizenko, Brianne Kalminowicz, Sherry Chapman, Amy Rut, Lynn Maguschak, Andrea Munzig, Kathleen Gabel, Stephani Riggi, Wendy Small, Tiffany Matinas, Lori Shepherd, Amanda Kalmanowicz, Jennifer Morelli, Jane Antoinini, Tata Kuzma, Amy Chorey and Melissa French.

40 YEARS AGO - 1973

Laura Gillis, daughter of Joan Gillis, Shavertown, was the winner of the Luzerne County Conservation Essay Contest, sponsored by the Pennsylvania Federation of Women’s Clubs. Laurel represented that Dallas Junior Woman’s Club when her essay was chosen the best from the Dallas Senior High School.

Sissy Kehler, 17, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Kehler, Harveys Lake, was chosen as semi-finalist in the annual Teen Princess USA Pageant. She was selected from 2,000 entries to be among the 55 girls who made the semi-final event. The contest is sponsored by TEEN magazine.

Barbara Ann Evans and Jo Ann Urick have been announced the top honor students of the Lake-Lehman senior class. Anthony Marchakitus, principal of Lake-Lehman High School, announced last Thursday that the title of valedictorian goes to Miss Evans, and that of salutatorian is extended to Miss Urick.

50 YEARS AGO - 1963

Highlight of Lake-Lehman Journalism Club banquet Saturday night at the Europa Lounge was the presentation of four plaques by Toastmaster Alan Landis. Winners of the coveted awards were: Janice Niezgoda, editor of Troubador, the school magazine; Linda Gosart, editor-in-chief of The Crusader, school newspaper; Alana Matter, editor of the Knight’s Code, the student handbook; and Marian Huttenstein, faculty advisor.

Statewide recognition of fine art work was recently awarded a Dallas High School Senior. Marian Olenick, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Michael Olenick, Shavertown, was notified last week by the Pennsylvania Federation of Women’s Club that she had received second place in the Pennsylvania Hallmark Art Talent Contest. The local student’s entry was a pastel entitled “American Vision” and was submitted in the statewide judging by the Dallas Senior Women’s Club after it had received first place in district competition.

60 YEARS AGO- 1953

Mrs. Ralph Miers was elected president of the Friendship Class of the Lehman Methodist Church, replacing Mrs. Dorrance Meekel, at the regular meeting of the class held Tuesday at the home of Mrs. Meekel. Other officers elected were: Vice-President, Mrs. Elbert Coombs; Secretary, Mrs. Russell Coolbaugh; Treasurer, Mrs. Myron Baker; Greeting Cards, Mrs. Joseph Ellsworth; Gifts, Mrs. Charles Ely; Publicity, Mrs. Myron Baker.

Shavertown Girl Scouts from Troop 275 who will receive badges in Child Care, Dance and Handywoman are Sandra Hinkle, Carol Inman, Beverly Kintzer, Brenda Mannear, Phyllis Monko, Janice Roberts, Sylvia Trewern, Marie Wahlgreen and Alice Shrel.

Fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh grade students from Gate of Heaven School who placed in the recent poetry contest sponsored by Court of Our Lady of Fatima , Saint Therese’s C.D.A. are: Jessica Thomas, Barbara Beaner, Patricia McCue, Marian Mascali, Fred Houlihan, Carol Rother and Caroline Race.

70 YEARS AGO - 1943

Miss Mildred Porter, a member of Shavertown Scout Troop, was crowned Queen of the May at the annual Girl Scout rally of Dallas District Friday night at the Kingston Township High School.

Mrs. Raymond Malkemes was hostess at a lovely tea for members of Dorcas Class of Saint Paul’s Methodist Church Friday. Present were: Mesdames Charles Dresssel, Margaret Powell, James Morton, George Casterline, Richard Rudy, Zigmund Harmon, John Batey, Merlin Werkheiser, Sam Woolbert, Christine Malkemes, Herbert Frankfort, James Doran, Harry Ell, John Graves, Landis Stout, Helen Pritchard, Jane Owens, Vern Pritchard, Carl Remley, Harry Steinhauer, Frank LaBaugh, Sherman Warden, K.G. Laycock, Fred Malkemes, Obed Hontz, Harold Ash, Ray Malkemes and Freddie Malkemes.

The Dallas Post has been in existence for 122 years. Information for “Only Yesterday” is taken from back issues of the newspaper and reprinted here exactly as it first appeared.

comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Mortgage Minute

Search for New & Used Cars

Used New All

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals

Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds