Friday, July 11, 2014

Pastor, concert organizer: ‘We are all Americans”

Waverly Community Church announces 4th Annual Patriotic Concert

June 25. 2013 12:28PM

Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

The Fourth annual Patriotic Concert, sponsored by the Waverly Community Church, will “salute America’s finest,” according to the band leader.

Instrumental selections will be performed by the Lenoxville Community Band, which has participated in the concert since its beginning. Roland Decker, 79, of Lenoxville has led the band for the past 30 years.

“We like to participate in the Patriotic Concert, because we have several members who have been in the service, and it is our way of saluting America’s finest,” Decker said.

According to Decker, the Lenoxville Community Band was formed in 1937 and is in its 76th year of operation. Currently the band has 35 members ranging in age from 14 to 84. Local band members include Stewart Atkinson, 84, of South Abington Twp., who plays the saxophone and Mike Sankey, 27, of Factoryville who plays the trombone.

“The Patriotic Concert is a family event celebrating our history,” Pastor James Cohen said. When Cohen, 31, of Clarks Summit came to the Waverly Community Church four years ago, he brought his love of history with him.

“We started the concert, because we wanted to celebrate our nation’s history and our Christian heritage,” Cohen said.

The concert will also feature singing and a non-biased, unedited tribute to American history led by Cohen. “We focus on what our founders said, did and believed,” Cohen said. It is Cohen’s hope that those who attend the concert will learn something about American history while being entertained.

This year’s concert will be held at Lackawanna State Park and is scheduled for 7 p.m., June 28. Admission is free, however it is suggested that those who attend bring their own lawn chair or blanket.

“Everyone is welcome; children, parents, and grandparents, because we are all Americans,” Cohen said.

Members of the planning committee include: Kathy Clark, Kathy Johnson, Holly Kapinus, Nick Meo, Linda Magnot, Denny D’Adamo, Sharon Webb and Pastor James and his wife Jen Cohen.

comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Mortgage Minute

Search for New & Used Cars

Used New All

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals

Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds