Sunday, July 13, 2014

The Commonwealth Medical College to honor founding board members at fifth annual Gala

September 03. 2013 2:53PM
Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

The Commonwealth Medical College (TCMC) will honor twenty-two members of the Northeastern Pennsylvania Medical Education Development Consortium (MEDC) Board at its fifth annual Gala on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at 6 p.m. at the Scranton Cultural Center. Through a grassroots effort started in 2003, these local business, medical community and government leaders laid the groundwork for TCMC - the region’s first medical college.

The goal of the MEDC was to provide more physicians and improved healthcare resources for the people of northeast and north central Pennsylvania.

“These visionaries conceived of a community-based medical school providing an innovative medical education to train future physicians to care for people in their lives and community,” stated Steven J. Scheinman, M.D., president and dean of TCMC. “This vision was made a reality with the awarding of our first Doctor of Medicine (MD) Degrees in May 2013. I am pleased to recognize their foresight and contributions during this Gala celebration.”

At this year’s annual Gala, members of the MEDC will be recognized in a special tribute and featured in the Gala program. The annual fundraiser raises awareness for medical education in support of the student scholarship fund at TCMC. The black tie optional event includes a cocktail reception at 6 p.m. and gourmet dinner at 8 p.m. followed by a Silent Auction and dancing from 9 p.m. to Midnight to the music of “Which Doctor” and “Hoopla.” Tickets are $175 per person. Sponsorships and program advertisements are available.

To become a sponsor, purchase an ad, and reserve your seat, call the Development Office at (570) 504-9650 or visit

MEDC complete list of board members includes:

Robert E. Wright, M.D., chairman; Robert W. Naismith, Ph.D, president; Harold E. Anderson, Jr.; Charles J. Bannon, M.D.; Denise S. Cesare; Michael M. Costello, J.D., Robert M. D’Alessandri, M.D.; Richard B. English, M.D.; Natalie D. Gelb; Christopher J. Haran; William R. Host, M.D.; Gerard P. Joyce; Thomas F. Karam;

David L. Lohin, D.O., James May; Former Senator Robert J. Mellow; Mark T. Perry, J.D., Shubhra Shetty, M.D.; Linda Thomas-Hemak, M.D.; Gerald P. Tracy, M.D.; David J. Williams; and Marlene Karam.

comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Mortgage Minute

Search for New & Used Cars

Used New All

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals

Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds