Last updated: September 19. 2013 3:35PM - 1157 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

20 YEARS AGO - 1993

The Dallas Post has won two awards in competition with newspapers across the United States. The Post was voted third best among newspapers in its circulation category for general excellence and editorial cartoonist Jim O’Connell won first place for best original cartoon, competing with entries from daily and weekly newspapers.

The Auxiliary of the Meadows Nursing Center, Dallas, met recently for a supper meeting and installation of officers. Josephine Besecker, Dallas, was installed for a two-year term as President. Others installed included Phyllis Leskowsky, first vice president, Louise Lamoreaux, second vice president, Madeline Baur, treasurer, and Lois Keller, secretary.

Seventh grade students in the gifted program at Lake-Lehman Middle Level Education Building recently participated in the Johns Hopkins Talent Search. The purpose of the program is to identify students with exceptional mathematical and/or verbal reasoning abilities in order to provide them with the ample opportunities to excel. Michael Casey received both math and verbal ability awards and Samuel Rhodes was cited for verbal ability. Certificates of distinction were also awarded to Jonathan Bradbury, Nicole Fallon, Jennifer Klaips and Joanne White.

30 YEARS AGO - 1983

The Harveys Lake Protective Association held its annual meeting and election of officers for the coming year. Officers elected were: president, Guy Giordano; 1st vice president, Ronald Debalko; 2nd vice president, JoAnna Feddock; 3rd vice president, John Brokenshire; 4th vice president, Michael Shisko; secretary-treasurer, Carlene McCaffrey; assistant secretary-treasurer, Margaret Truska; historian, Mildred Garinger.

The Kiwanis Club of Dallas recently inducted Joe Grimas and Jim Ward as new members.

Mark Drasnin, a senior at Dallas High School, is one of 15,000 students selected as a National Merit Semi-Finalist. Mark qualified as a semi-finalist on the basis of his outstanding performance on the 1982 PSAT test. Mark will now fulfill requirements established by the National merit Scholarship Program in order to advance to finalist standing before receiving consideration for a Merit Scholarship.

40 YEARS AGO - 1973

Karen Passarella, Oak Hill, was crowned Miss United Way at the 1973-74 United Way of Wyoming Valley Labor Rally and Community Kickoff Dinner. Finalists in the contest included: Deborah Anderson, Mark II Restaurant, Pat Decawski, United Penn Bank, Sandra Jones, Commonwealth Telephone, Karen Hornberger, Pomeroy’s, Cynthia Sheldon, Gus Genetti’s Hotel, and Pat Hurley, Bell Telephone. Miss Passarella represented Elby’s Restaurant.

The Junior League of Wilkes-Barre will present its Autumn House Tour this week. The four interesting homes to be toured in the Dallas area are those of Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Troup, Mrs. Andrew Kirmse, Dr. and Mrs. Gerald Gunster, and Gov. and Mrs. John S. Fine.

50 YEARS AGO - 1963

Charles James Memorial Assembly was honored at the Grand Assembly held at State College last month. The local chapter received honorable mention for its service projects and three members received the Grand Cross of Color, highest award ever given a Rainbow girl or advisory board member. Sally Moyer, Diane Myers and Mrs. Agnes Myers were the recipients.

The White Shrine of Jerusalem will hold a Card Party and Cookout at the home of Mrs. Charles Lutsey, Summit Street, Shavertown, of Saturday afternoon. Mrs. Lutsey is assisted by Mrs. Elma Price as co-chairman.

Mrs. Alva Eggleston, Vernon, received outstanding recognition recently when she was honored as a top Regional Manager for Field Enterprise Educational Corporation publisher of Childcraft and World Book encyclopedia. Mrs. Eggleston left the teaching profession as a music supervisor in public schools eight years ago to become associated with the Field Enterprises.

60 YEARS AGO - 1953

Jackson Grange will hold its annual Harvest Home and Supper in the Grange Hall next week. Robert Disque is general chairman. Heading committees are: Russell Cease, grounds and building; Randolph Wright, fruits and vegetables; Mrs. Madaline Adamshick, flowers; Mrs. Beulah Niezgoda, baked goods; Mrs. Margaret Barrall, bazaar; Mrs. Arline Kishbaugh, canned goods; Mrs. Ruth Wright, supper; Edwin Wright, cider and doughnuts; Mr. and Mrs. Elbert Coombs, Mrs. Lena Trethaway, refreshments; Paul Snyder and Mrs. Pearl Coolbaugh, harvest queen; Myrtle B. Major, publicity; William Dumbell and Benjamin Finn, auctioneers.

Margaret Belles, sister of Lake Noxen’s high school principal, Robert Belles, took third pace in the Lions Club Lady of the Lake contest Sunday afternoon. Donna Smith, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Donald Smith, was selected by the committee as Little Lady of the Lake.

70 YEARS AGO - 1943

Beverly Piatt was hostess at a wiener roast at her home in Huntsville Friday evening. Present were: Ruth Newhart, John Zayatz, Claude Newhart, Doris Southwell, Betty Hontz, Jack Youngblood, Frances Zayatz, Louis Southwell, Doris Mae Hontz, Jack Carey, Judson Holdridge, Ellen Piatt John Fogerty, George Sebolka, Frank Sebolka, Albert Cadwalader, June Swan, Betty Lewis, Nita Smith, Ruth Elston, Joseph Fogerty, John Griffith, Thomas Reese, Edward Sobieski, Stephen Salansky, Jack Kitchen, William Dennis, Bernard Dennis, Sterling Barnes and Margie Sharrow.

Movies playing at the Shaver Theater, Shavertown, included “Something to Shout About” starring Don Ameche and Janet Blair; “Forever and a Day” starring Ida Lupino and Brian Aherne; and “Heart of the Golden West” starring Roy Rogers and Smiley Burnette.

The Dallas Post has been in existence for 124 years. Information for “Only Yesterday” is taken from back issues of the newspaper and is reprinted here exactly as it first appeared.

comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Mortgage Minute