Last updated: October 03. 2013 1:38PM - 600 Views
Associated Press

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

(AP) Roger Penske's drivers have had five different chances to win him an IndyCar championship since Sam Hornish Jr. claimed the 2006 title.

Helio Castroneves had a shot in 2008 and came up short. Same with Ryan Briscoe in 2009. Then it was Will Power the last three years.

Now as Castroneves holds a 49-point lead over Scott Dixon with three races remaining, Penske is making it clear he wants this championship.

The IndyCar Series resumes this weekend with a doubleheader in Houston after nearly five weeks off. The races on Saturday and Sunday are a perfect place for Dixon to strike. He climbed into the championship race by sweeping the doubleheader at Toronto in July.

Castroneves is seeking his first IndyCar title.

Associated Press
All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com