100 years celebrated

January 23, 2013

The Clarks Summit Fire Company recently completed its 100th year celebration, during which time numerous events occurred.

On Memorial Day, the organization marched in the annual Clarks Summit parade and for the first time displayed the Company's anniversary banner and centennial patch on the uniforms.

Members of the local volunteer organization marched in local fireman's parades and took with them the anniversary banner to announce their centennial year to local communities.

A well-attended open house was held during Fire Prevention Week, at which time citizens were able to view the fire station, look at the equipment and enjoy refreshments. The group's monthly breakfasts promoted the centennial year, as did events of The Joseph W. Hall Memorial Auxiliary to the Clarks Summit Fire Company, which included the Christmas Cookie Walk and Handicraft and Flea Market occasion. Company members were also present at the annual tree lighting. One particular event was the unveiling of the Mayor Tony Perry memorial plaque designating the giving of the flag poles in front of the station by the Perry Family as a tribute. In honor of its founder, Joseph Hall, members of the company gathered at the grave site of Chief Hall in Hickory Grove Cemetery, where a special service of dedication and appreciation was held in his honor.

Another highlight of the year was the purchase of a new ambulance for the company. It was designated as the centennial ambulance, with marking on other equipment designating that the fire company has served citizen for 100 years.

The final event, which closed out the year, was the Appreciation Dinner for members and friends held at the fire station Dec. 20, 2012. More than 100 attended the special dinner and the year of celebration concluded.

At the last meeting of 2012, new officers were elected to begin the next 100 years:

President David Jenkins, Vice President David Gilpin, Treasurer John Morrison, Secretary Warren Watkins, Financial Secretary Jack Recicar, Statistical Secretary Gene Hallinan, Chaplain Alan Jennings, Sergeant at Arms Aaron Shapiro and Trustees Jamie Kresge and George Yarns Jr.

Line officers elected were: Chief Jake Hoinowski, First Asst. Chief Ryan Miller, Second Asst. Chief Jay Miller, Captain Dave Ross and Lieutenants Kevin Yetkowskas, Mike Lukus, Corey Colarossi and Mike Brown. James McGowan was elected to the post of Master Mechanic.

Elections for the EMS officers were also held including Asst. Chief Dale Richmond Jr., Captain Lenny Hazleton and Lieutenants Heath Goldstein, Larry Kowalski, Cait Chambers and Kevin Murray.

As the new year begins, the company continues to hold its annual fund drive. The company thanks the citizens, businesses and organizations that have contributed. Without the community support, the volunteer company would be hard pressed to continue financially stable.