Leadership Lackawanna Core Program announces 2013-2014 class

October 10, 2013

The Leadership Lackawanna core program class of 2013-2014 met Sept. 12 for its first session, which included an orientation and an introduction to leadership basics.

“I’m excited for the adventures and opportunities that lie ahead, said Leadership Lackawanna administrator, Nicole A. Barber. “This year’s participants have accomplished great things in their past and I look forward to seeing how they will utilize the leadership skills they acquire over the next ten months.”

As part of the 10-month Leadership Lackawanna program, class participants are assigned to complete various community service projects. Several have continued on through the work of the respective groups or agencies and are still notable, such as the Restoration of Hanlon’s Grove at Nay Aug Park and Dress for Success Lackawanna. Group projects build teamwork skills, develop resourcefulness and engender a sense of accomplishment through the impact they have on the community. All projects impact the community, address a need and result in a tangible end product.

The 2013-2014 Leadership Lackawanna Core Program participants include: Athena Aardweg, Self-Determination Housing Project of PA; Stephanie Adamec, The University of Scranton; Keely Brazil, Benco Dental; Jason Cali, Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank; Kellie Casey, Entercom Communications; Nathan Chappell, PNC Bank; Michael Cola, Geisinger-CMC; Jacqueline Czachor, HW Roever Inc. – Dunkin Donuts; Laura Duda, Lackawanna College; Laurie Fleming, United Neighborhood Centers; Callie Fisher, Marywood University; Michele Graham, Lackawanna County DA’s Office; Tracy Hunt, Allied Services; Jose Jimenez, P&G; Meghan Livingston, American Cancer Society; Conor Malone, Merrill Lynch Wealth Management; Timothy J. Maloney, Rosenn, Jenkins and Greenwald, LLP; Jason Marconi, McCann School of Business and Tech; Todd Monahan, Prudential Retirement; Jaya Nair, The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Education; Michele Petrasko, Live Nation - Toyota Pavilion at Montage Mountain; Marsha Pigga, Lackawanna Collegep; Shannetta Robinson, P&G; Justin M. Shaffern, Franklin Security Bank; Kristen Shemanski, Gertrude Hawk Chocolates; Megan Swann, Timmy’s Town Center; Matthew M. Swartz, Wayne Bank; Katie Tracy, Plato’s Closet; Sharon Uhl, Gertrude Hawk Chocolates and Jessica Wallow, United Neighborhood Centers.

Leadership Lackawanna is an NEPA leadership development organization. Its three programs – Core, Executive, and Tomorrow’s Leaders Today – enhance the skills and knowledge of emerging citizens and advanced professionals, enabling them to better serve in their organization and communities.

Established in 1982 under the guidance of The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Lackawanna has graduated more than 1,400 community leaders. To learn more, visit leadershiplackawanna.com or call (570) 342-7711.