Last updated: March 07. 2013 12:00AM - 4608 Views
By - jerzar@civitasmedia.com - (570) 991-6394

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The three teams that won divisional championships in Wyoming Valley Conference boys basketball also had players selected as MVPs.

The WVC Coaches Association met recently and picked their all-stars for the three divisions. Hazleton Area junior guard Sal Biasi was selected the Division I MVP, while GAR junior forward Isaiah Francis received the same honor in Division II. Meyers seniors Ryan Krawczeniuk and Rasheed Moore shared MVP honors in Division III.

The Times Leader will select an All-WVC team at a future date, consisting of players from all three divisions.

Here is a breakdown of the selections:

DIVISION I: Biasi led the entire WVC in scoring with a 28.0 average. He also led it in field goals with 123 and shot 84 percent from the foul line in helping Hazleton Area to the divisional title and an 18-6 record.

Joining Biasi as Division I first-team all-stars were Coughlin senior Nate Oliver, Crestwood junior Chris Fazzini, Pittston Area junior Mason Gross, Tunkhannock senior Brian Stephenson and Wyoming Valley West senior Jaquan Ingram. Hazleton Area’s Mike Joseph was chosen the Coach of the Year.

Division I second-team selections were Crestwood’s Brady Gallagher, Hazleton Area’s Brett Barron, Pittston Area’s James Tobish and Wyoming Valley West’s Larry Anderscavage and Brett Good.

Division I honorable mention selections were: Zach Ladonis and Eric May, Berwick; Connor Flaherty, Coughlin; Steve Roberts, Crestwood; Suk Mathon and Matt Ross, Dallas; Kurtis Wright, Hazleton Area; and Sean Soltysiak, Tunkhannock.

DIVISION II: Francis paced the Grenadiers with a 14.2 average. He battled an ankle injury early, but his ability to adapt to any situation helped GAR post a 17-9 record entering the PIAA Class 3A playoffs.

Francis was joined on the first-team all-stars by teammate Christian Skrepenak, a senior center. Lake-Lehman landed two players on the squad — junior center Pete Borum and junior guard Adam Dizbon. Nanticoke junior forward Mike Malshefski and Wyoming Area senior forward Bart Chupka rounded out the first team. GAR coach Paul Brown was chosen as Coach of the Year.

The second team consisted of GAR’s Lamont Twyman, Holy Redeemer’s Brian Banas and Mike Boutanos, Nanticoke’s Tyler Myers and Wyoming Area’s Mike Carey.

No honorable mention players were selected.

DIVISION III: Krawczeniuk and Moore were instrumental in Meyers not only winning the division but extending its WVC winning streak to 56 games. Krawczeniuk was an outside threat who led the division with a 19.0 average and 34 three-pointers. Moore was second in the division in scoring and the conference’s premier inside player. He avearged 16.5 points.

The remainder of the first-team all-stars were Hanover Area junior guard Jorge Colon and sophomore guard Jake Barber, Meyers junior forward Tyriek Steward, Northwest senior swingplayer Devon Mazonkey and Wyoming Seminary sophomore guard Seth Callahan. Meyers’ Pat Toole was chosen Coach of the Year.

The second-team selections were Meyers’ Matt DeMarco, MMI Prep’s Aaron Kollar and Cory Rogers and Wyoming Seminary’s Jason Ellis and E.J. Flippen. No honorable mention players were chosen.

SENIOR ALL-STAR GAME: The rosters were also set for the WVC Senior All-Star Game, which will be played April 5 at Holy Redeemer High School.

Meyers’ Pat Toole will coach the East team, while Tunkhannock’s Dustin Babcock will coach the West.

Here are the rosters:

East: Connor Flaherty and Nate Oliver, Coughlin; Steve Roberts, Crestwood; Christian Skrepenak and Willie Winstead, GAR; Ethan Hoolick, Hanover Area; Kurtis Wright, Hazleton Area; Ryan Krawczeniuk, Rasheed Moore and C.J. Szafran, Meyers; Aaron Kollar, MMI Prep; Nick Valenti and Cairee Walker, Nanticoke; and James Tobish, Pittston Area.

West: Zach Ladonis and Eric May, Berwick; Jared James, Lake-Lehman; Kyle Cragle, Devon Mazonkey, Tyler Meininger and Alex Sirak, Northwest; Brian Stephenson, Tunkhannock; Mike Carey, Bart Chupka and Jordan Zezza, Wyoming Area; Jason Ellis and E.J. Flippen, Wyoming Seminary; and Brett Good and Jaquan Ingram, Valley West.

comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com