Thursday, July 10, 2014

Key dates in the history of The Washington Post

August 05. 2013 7:43PM
Associated Press

Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

(AP) Key dates in the history of The Washington Post:

1877: The newspaper is founded by Democrat Stilton Hutchins and published its first edition on Dec. 6, with an initial circulation of 10,000.

1889: Hutchins sells to Republican Cabinet member Frank Hatton and former Democratic Congressman Beriah Wilkins.

1905: John R. McLean, owner of The Cincinnati Enquirer, purchases the paper, which becomes loyal to the Democratic Party.

1916: McLean dies. His son, Edward, becomes publisher and switches the paper's allegiance to the Republican Party. Circulation and advertising drops, and the paper falls into receivership.

1933: The Post is purchased at a bankruptcy auction by Eugene Meyer, a California-born financier and a member of the Federal Reserve's board of governors. Under Meyer, the paper's reputation improves, and circulation triples to 162,000 by 1943.

1946: Meyer's son-in-law, Philip L. Graham, succeeds him as publisher.

1947: The Washington Post Co. incorporates, with Graham as CEO.

1954: The Post purchases its last morning rival, the Washington Times-Herald, increasing circulation to 380,000. The paper is known as The Washington Post and Times-Herald until 1973.

1961: The Washington Post Co. purchases Newsweek magazine.

1963: Philip Graham commits suicide at his farm in Virginia. His widow, Meyer's daughter, Katharine Graham, succeeds him as publisher.

1971: The Washington Post Co. goes public, selling stock on the New York Stock Exchange at $26 per share.

1972: The Post begins reporting on a break-in at the Democratic National Committee's offices at Washington's Watergate hotel. The ensuing scandal would lead to the resignation of President Richard Nixon.

1979: Katharine Graham's son, Donald Graham, becomes publisher.

1984: The Washington Post Co. purchases Stanley H. Kaplan Educational Centers Limited, which would grow into a leading test-preparation company.

2000: Boisfeuillet Jones Jr. becomes publisher and CEO of The Post. Donald Graham becomes chairman.

2001: Katharine Graham dies at age 84.

2008: Katharine Weymouth, Katharine Graham's granddaughter, is named publisher and CEO of The Post.

2013: The Post is sold to founder Jeff Bezos.

Associated Press

comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Mortgage Minute

Search for New & Used Cars

Used New All

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals

Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds