Friday, July 11, 2014





Nobel physics prize announcement delayed


October 08. 2013 6:36AM
Associated Press

Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle


(AP) The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has delayed the announcement of this year's Nobel Prize in physics by at least an hour.


That's an unusually long delay by the prize committee, which typically announces its decision right on time or just a few minutes later.


The academy said on Twitter that "The Academy is still in session," but didn't give further details. The members of the academy's physics committee pick the winners in a majority vote on the day of the announcement.


It was supposed to reveal the winners at 11:45 a.m. (0945 GMT; 5:45 a.m. EDT) but delayed the announcement several times, saying it would take place no earlier than 12:45 p.m. (1045 GMT; 6:45 a.m. EDT).


Associated Press


Comments
comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Poll
Mortgage Minute


Search for New & Used Cars

Make 
Model
 
Used New All
 

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals



Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds