Last updated: May 11. 2013 8:18PM - 1396 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Susan M. Perlis, associate dean for curriculum at The Commonwealth Medical College in Scranton, has been accepted as a fellow in the 2013-2014 class of the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program for Women.

It’s the only in-depth national program dedicated to preparing senior female faculty at schools of medicine, dentistry, and public health to effect sustained positive change as institutional leaders.

Golden LivingCenter-East Mountain in Wilkes-Barre has received Golden Living’s coveted 14 Karat Award, one of the company’s highest honors for superior performance for quality care and services to its residents. Only five LivingCenters out of the company’s portfolio of 302 nursing homes are selected to receive this honor each year.

Cross Valley Federal Credit Union in Plains Township honored employee service milestones to 11 staff members with awards for their devotion and longevity to the credit union. Together these eleven staff members represent 110 years of service. Those honored for five years of service include James Van Wert III., members financial services; Estelle Meyers, receptionist; Carolyn Galenty, member service representative; Frankie D. Parini, head teller; Kelly Carr, member service representative. Those honored for 10 years include Jennifer Mylott, branch manager; Violet Gabriel, member service representative; Jeremy Bealla, V.P. of information technology; Kim McDermott, head teller. Amy Biscontini was honored for 15 years of service and is a member service representative; and Marlene Sheridan, V.P. of Lending, was honored for 30 years.

Francis Curry of Forty Fort, was presented with a citation from the Pennsylvania Senate for 38 years of service at Luzerne County Community College.

Blue Mountain, a ski resort in Palmerton, was recognized with two top honors for ‘Best Social Media Marketing’ and the ‘Best Overall Safety Program” awards. The awards are presented annually for successful marketing and safety programs.

Attorney Joseph R. Lohin has been reappointed as the 2013 Chairman of the Scholarship Committee of the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants. The awards are given on a competitive basis to candidates that best satisfy the requirements of high intellectual capacity, leadership potential, financial need and intent to pursue a career in accounting.

Dr. Elaine M. Altoe, a psychological services specialist at SCI Retreat, in Newport Township, was among 15 employees of Department of Corrections to be honored for their outstanding performance, heroic actions and employee mentoring. They were awarded the DOC’s Outstanding Performance Award.

The Luzerne County Community College Foundation, Inc, has appointed new members for 2013. The new members are Patrick Barrett, of Dunmore, senior vice president/commercial lending manager, First National Community Bank; Ron Beer, of Berwick, CEO, Berwick Hospital; Melissa Jabore Futch, of Wilkes-Barre, vice president of investments, Stifel Nicolaus; David Jolley, of Wilkes-Barre Township, vice president for system public affairs, Geisinger Health Systems; Edward Kaushas, of Wilkes-Barre, CEO, Cross Valley Federal Credit Union; and Gerard O’Donnell, of Shavertown, a business consultant. The new members will serve a three-year term starting this year.

Chance Densky, of Luzerne County, is a recipient of the Governor’s Achievement Awards, which were presented to 10 exceptional Pennsylvanians who benefited from workforce development initiatives and were recognized for their accomplishments. Densky was nominated by the Luzerne-Schuylkill Workforce Investment Board

Innovatrix Labs, located in the CAN BE business incubator in Valmont Industrial Park, West Hazleton, has been named a winner in the TecBridge Regional Business Plan Competition with its business plan and concept of rapid prototyping through three-dimensional printing.

During the contest, students from the area’s 15 colleges and universities, along with non-collegiate teams, compete for resources and financial assistance to launch their tech-based company while gaining valuable insight into the world of business and entrepreneurship. Innovatrix Labs won the non-collegiate division this year.

Innovatrix Labs was founded by business partners Jesse Fox of Drums and Niraj Pathak of Mountain Top who met while studying information sciences technology at Penn State Hazleton. The company provides a variety of Internet services, including website development, search engine optimization and e-commerce. Most recently, Fox and Pathak have installed 3-D printing apparatus and developed software that transforms the process of building models and prototypes into something much faster and less expensive than conventional sampling methods.

As the winner of the competition, Innovatrix Labs will receive $15,000 in addition to a variety of in-kind services that will help the business grow and succeed. Fox and Pathak plan to upgrade and expand their lab and add the capability to create products using additional materials such as metal, ceramic and even chocolate.

comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com