Last updated: June 25. 2014 4:53PM - 803 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Wyoming Seminary Lower School recently held a graduation ceremony for its eighth-grade students. Cantor Ahron Abraham of Temple Israel gave the invocation and benediction and awards were presented by Kip P. Nygren, president; Dr. Claire Hornung, dean of Lower School; and Edward Plaksa, Lower School coordinator. Meghna Melkote, Moosic, gave the graduation address and Dr. Hornung served as the graduation speaker. Jill Carrick, Lower School seventh-grade science teacher and chair of the science department, received the Frances and Louis Maslow Lower School Award for excellence in teaching, and Aaron Stoker, middle-school math teacher and chair of the math department, received the United Methodist Church Exemplary Teacher Award. The ceremony ended with a traditional punch and cookies reception for the graduates on the front lawn of the Lower School. Graduates, from left, first row: Anna Bowen, Danville; Kaley Rider, Kingston; Riley Calpin, Waverly; Isabella Stash, Forty Fort; Liliana Welby, Scranton; and Mia Zaloga, Moosic. Second row: Cole Ardoline, Courtdale; Lillian Hornung, Forty Fort; Megan Mitten, Harding; Madeline Arthur, Wyoming; Oonagh White-Spunner, Bloomsburg; Gabrielle Snyder, Plymouth; Arianna Bufalino, Dallas; Julia Gabriel, Forty Fort; Ryan Straub, Bear Creek; and William Lynett, Shavertown. Third row: Akhilesh Khakhar, Mountain Top; Avani Pugazhendhi, Mountain Top; Olivia Ostrowski, Dallas; Naomi Dressler, Kingston; Meghna Melkote, Moosic; Olivia Meuser, Shavertown; Danica Polachek Mits, Bear Creek Township; Kaitlyn Metz, Shavertown; and Emily Sims, Nanticoke. Fourth row: Elisha Blake, Factoryville; Levi Sunday-Lefkowitz, Shavertown; Bobby Austin, Dallas; Dan Paglia, Shavertown; Duncan Lumia, Dallas; Samuel Sweitzer, Dallas; Faizan Khalid, Mountain Top; Daniel Rogers, Kingston; Richard Kraus, Kingston; and Daniel Hancuff, Dallas. Fifth row: Eli Idec, Tunkhannock; Joshua Moses, Kingston; Cooper Meagher, Susquehanna; Kiran Sharma, Mt. Bethel; Solomon Myers, Forty Fort; James Hughes, Kingston; Haralampos Varonides, Scranton; Erich Olsen, Pittston; and Vincenzo Gaudino, Kingston. Absent from photo is Beyza Akinci, Mountain Top.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com