Last updated: April 25. 2013 4:50PM - 1820 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

1993 – 20 YEARS AGO

Officers of the Back Mountain Fire Association were sworn in at the annual dinner last week. Officers include Kunkle Fire Chief Jack Dodson, president; Jackson Township Fire Chief Rollie Evans, vice president; Harveys Lake Assistant Chief Dick Heuer, secretary; and Dallas Fiore Chief Bob Besecker, treasurer.

Brownie Troop 696 of Gate of Heaven School in Dallas prepared several Easter baskets for the women and children at the Catherine McAuley House in Plymouth. The girls donated such items as food, toiletries, paper products, baby items and several boxes of children’s clothes. Troop members are: Kristen Wagner, Jennifer Mullins, Alison Taroli, Jane Clements, Maureen Hozempa, Meghan Reino, Stacie Amico, Elizabeth Ambrose, Maria Bassano, Adrienne Ruggiero, Molly Guntli, Adrienne Gilbert, Elise Persico, Ashlee Fagula, Sharleen Casey, Stephanie Gionta, Caitlin Ward, Morgan Carey, Liz Mahoney, Nora Stepanitis and Sherree Senausky.

Tiffany Owens, Ann Faulis and Stephanie Kriner, all graduates of Dallas High School, are members of the 1993 Luzerne County Community College women’s softball team.

1983 – 30 YEARS AGO

The Dallas Junior Woman’s Club recently bestowed, for the first time in the club’s history, the distinct honor of “Member of the Year” on one of its members. The award was made as a surprise at the club’s monthly meeting to Valerie Gialanella. A short presentation of Valerie’s contributions to the club was made by Mary Ann Storz and Linda Vozniak.

Alice Lane of Noxen will make her third appearance in the Cancer Society Bike-A-Thon May 1. The 67-year-old great grandmother of four will once again pedal all 25 miles of the fundraising ride.

Two new members were recently inducted into the Kiwanis Club of Dallas at a dinner meeting held at Irem Temple Country Club. New members are William Kalinowski and Lee Trager.

1973– 40 YEARS AGO

Mrs. Guy Fritz, Market Street, Noxen, a member of the Harveys Lake Women’s Service Club, won first place in the division of paper tole decoupage at the Crafts Contest held by the Pennsylvania Federation of Woman’s Clubs, Northeast District, at Scranton recently.

High meat prices have come to the attention of Irma Menn’s fourth grade at the Dallas Elementary School. The class has been following and has endorsed the recent boycott of meat. Class participants include Paula Besciglia, Richard Rollman, Michele Kern, James Shaffer, Ellen Rowe and Cheryl Marino.

Robert Baird and Robert Baird Jr. of Trucksville will feature special music this Sunday at the Shavertown United Methodist church’s 11 a.m. mass. Mr. Baird is a former Pennsylvania State Champion Trumpeter and was trumpet soloist with the United States Navy Band of Washington, D.C. Young Baird is a sophomore at Dallas Area High School. He is a member of the chorus, the Student Council, the band and orchestra, and the junior varsity wrestling squad.

1963 – 50 YEARS AGO

Two Dallas boys won prizes in the recent King’s College Regional Science Fair. John Ferguson, Pioneer Avenue, who took a third prize in the physics division, is a senior at Dallas High School. Jeff Townsend, Upper Demunds Road, ninth grader at Dallas Junior High School, took second prize in the general science category.

Beaumont “Busty Beavers,” the local girls 4-H Club, met Wednesday at the home of Mrs. Nile Clark to elect the following: President, Nancy Kliamovich; Vice-President, Sandra Denmon; Secretary, Linda Kriedler; Treasurer, Patty Patton; Song Leader, Beth Ann Clark; Game Leaders, Susan Downs and Mary Ann Patton; and News Reporter, Sandra Goodwin.

1953 – 60 YEARS AGO

Among the seventy-five candidates inducted into the Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine Tuesday night at the Spring Ceremonial at Irem Temple were four Back Mountain men: Warren S. Unger, Trucksville; Robert E. Rearick, Dallas; Bruce C. Moen, Dallas; and Franklin J. Gager, Dallas.

Lena Misson, senior at Dallas-Franklin High School, shines in two fields, Problems of Democracy and Mathematics. She won a $5 prize from Dallas Township Woman’s Civic Club, placing first in her class in a test on the United Nations, and has an opportunity to win a scholarship or other award in the May 2 Mathematics Tournament at Wilkes College.

1943 – 70 YEARS AGO

Volunteer workers, members of Dallas Woman’s Club, who are handling the War Bond Drive at their booth in the Dallas Post office had topped their quota by $1,750 yesterday noon and expect to double that amount before the close of the drive on May 1. Volunteers at the booth during the week were: Mrs. Albert Shafer, Mrs. Oswald Griffiths, Mrs. Edward Hartman, Mrs. William Derolf, Mrs. Fred Eck, Mrs. Austin Prynn, Mrs. Vincent McGuire, Mrs. Wilson Maury, Mrs. Donald Nelson, Mrs. Edgar Nulton, Mrs. Walter Elston, Mrs. Philip Cheney and Mrs. Morris Johnston.

Mrs. Herbert A. Smith will be hostess to members of the Ways and Means Committee of Dallas W.S.C.S. at her home at Machell Avenue Tuesday afternoon. Committee members who will attend are: Mrs. Peter Clark, Mrs. Wesley Himmler, Mrs. Edgar Brace, Mrs. Gerald Dettmore, Mrs. Thomas Robinson, Mrs. F. Budd Schooley, Mrs. Harry Snyder, Mrs. T.A. Williamee, Mrs. Ralph Brickel, Mrs. Oswald Griffiths, Mrs. Austin Prynn, Mrs. Oscar Roth, Mrs. Stanley Rinehimer, Mrs. Sherman Wardan, Mrs. York, Mrs. James Oliver and Mrs. Thomas Cease.

Mrs. Machell Hildebrant entertained members of the Mother and Daughter Sewing Club at her home on Lake Street Saturday morning. Present were: Mrs. R.K. Hislop, Mrs. Thomas Moore, Mrs. Lulu Beisel, Mrs. Wesley Moore, Mrs. Harold Rood, Mrs. J.C. Fleming, Mrs. Wesley Oliver, Miss Ellinor Carter, Mrs. Ralph Rood, Mrs. Edgar Brace and Mrs. Laura Patterson.

The Dallas Post has been in existence for 122 years. Information for “Only Yesterday” is taken from back issues of the newspaper and reprinted here exactly as it first appeared.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com