Last updated: November 07. 2013 12:47PM - 2079 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

20 YEARS AGO - 1993

At the recent Hazleton Funfest Performing Arts Talent Competition, the group “Locomotion” was awarded a 1st place trophy, in group jazz and group lyrical. They also won a third place in group tap. “Locomotion” is instructed by Bob Oberst, owner of the Back Mountain Dance Studio, Dallas. Members of the group are: Nicole Butch, Kassy Yedesko, Melissa Sorber, Jennifer Frank and Lori Bertinelli.

Boy Scout Troop 693 of Harveys Lake visited the Cape May Coast Guard Training Center in October while on a deep sea fishing trip. The boys dined with the cadets during their stay and got a taste of what life in the Coast Guard is like. Scouts who participated are: Bobby Brown, Dylan Skursky, Larry Wandell, Ray Shultz, Eric Pimm, Bob Bevan, and Paul Kapral.

Gary Gold, Donald Biggs, Thomas Basta and Carl Harris were recently indicted into the Lake Silkworth Area Lions Club at a dinner meeting held at the Red Rooster Restaurant, Pikes Creek.

30 YEARS AGO - 1983

The Dallas High School girls’ field hockey team won the Division AAA title last week. Members of the championship team are: Diane Chismar, Jill Radzinski, Amy Aston, Chris Long, Karen Wall, Lee Ann Petro, Courtney Dick, Julie Yakowski, Heidi Yakowski, Kim Rinehimer, Paula Yezilski, Maribeth Watchulonis, Beth Karnofsky, Carla Orlando, Cheryl Harding, Linda King, Stacie Orlando, Marilyn Wisniewski, Karen Vloedman, Cristi Boudreaux, Michelle Bren, Lisa Gabel, Susan King, Leslie Billman and Christi Strauser.

The Dallas Kiwanis Club recently installed new officers. Installing officer was Kiwanis Lieutenant Governor Robert Taylor. Officers are: Link Linquist, president; Mike Kerkowski, first vice-president; Leon Trager, second vice-president; Cliff Parker, treasurer; and Reese Pelton, secretary.

40 YEARS AGO - 1973

The Dallas Area Key Club conducted their annual installation of officers and initiation of new members recently at the Irem Temple Country Club. The Dallas Kiwanis, sponsors of the club, hosted the event. Key Club officers are: Kevin Chadwick, president; Richard Crompton, vice president; Ernie Pliscott, secretary; and Robert Casselberry, treasurer.

Six local Boy Scouts received the Ad Altare Dei Awards Sunday. The scouts are altar boys at Gate of Heaven and members of troops sponsored by Trucksville and Dallas United Methodist Churches. The award is a recognition given by the church to a scout for advancement in the spiritual content of the program. The boys are: Shawn Muldoon, Michael Muldoon, Walter Weir III, Vincent Sodrosky Jr., Mark Hession and Edward Janosik.

50 YEARS AGO -1 963

Continuing the exceptional musical talent exhibited throughout high school, John B. Wardell, Trucksville, has been selected a member of the outstanding Blue Band of Pennsylvania State University. John has been selected as first cornet soloist.

At local Acme Markets, bacon sold for 39 cents a pound; steak was 75 cents a pound; grapes were 19 cents a pound; broccoli was 25 cents a bunch; and a 50 pound bag of potatoes sold for $1.29.

60 YEARS AGO - 1953

Mrs. Tillie Loveland, Noxen, was named chairman and Mrs. Ella McConnell and Mrs. Ben Banks, cochairmen, of the Lady of Victory Altar and Rosary Society card party being held at Jack Nothoff’s Pine Room, Sunset, Harveys Lake. Prizes are in charge of Mrs. George Alles and Mrs. John Stenger.

Future Homemakers of Lehman High School began their activities this year with a hayride last Friday supervised by Mrs. Betty Bostic, Home Economics adviser. Participants included Margaret Harrison, Lois Lee, Patsy Crispell, Joan Esser, Theresa Rodriguez, Ed Castellani, Barry Edwards, Alan Rood, Rusty Dixon, James Barto, Edna Moore, John Kelly, Ransom Agnew, June Kriedler, Kay Roginski, Walter Moore, Mary Kriedler, Eileen Ray, Eleanor Rodriguez, Alice Manzoni, Carol Rinehimer, Naomi Murray, Pat Sult, Janet Ray and Russell Major.

70 YEARS AGO - 1943

A delicious menu with turkey and all the trimmin’s is being planned for the annual turkey supper at East Dallas Church, Wednesday evening. In charge of the kitchen will be Mrs. Ben Brace, Mrs. George Snyder and Mrs. Irene Moore; in the dining room Mrs. Arline Evans, Mrs. Freda Huey and Mrs. Jule Wilson.

Fernbrook Girl Scout Troop 90, elected Joy Lamoreaux, Scribe, and Daisy Bellas, Historian, at their meeting Monday. Other members present were: Cecilia Oglen, Peggy Martin, Jean Wesley, Laberta Schultz, Jane Case, and Phillips and Aletha Jones.

Trucksville United Red Cross Canteen served supper to the cadets and their guests at Y.W.C.A. Sunday evening. Those serving were: Mrs. Herbert Williams, Mrs. A.S. James, Mrs. A.H. Jordan, Mrs. Earl Gregory, Mrs. Ralph Hazeltine, Mrs. Herbert Webster, Mrs. Cedric Griffith, Mrs. Howard and Miss Thelma Bulford. Among those acting as junior hostesses were Miss Elsie Ayre and Miss Jane Post.

The Dallas Post has been in existence for 124 years. Information for “Only Yesterday” is taken from back issues of the newspaper and is reprinted here exactly as it first appeared.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com