Friday, July 25, 2014

New all-star game is born today at PNC Field

June 01. 2013 11:29PM
Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

The 2013 baseball season opened in District 2 with a partnership with the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders.

All four district championship games were hosted at the RailRiders’ PNC Field on Memorial Day, creating a unique day of local baseball.

It’s not ending there.

A handful of the area’s top seniors will also get to play on the renovated field in Moosic today. PNC Field will host the inaugural Field of Dreams Game at 1 p.m. featuring senior standouts from the Wyoming Valley Conference against seniors from the Lackawanna Baseball League.

Pittston Area’s Paul Zaffuto and Old Forge’s Tony DiMattia will coach the WVC and LBL squads, respectively.

Representing the WVC will be Wil Amesbury (Meyers), Bart Chupka (Wyoming Area), Clay DeNoia (Berwick), Josh Featherman (Coughlin), Mickey Ferrence (Hanover Area), Jake Granteed (Wyoming Area), Morgan Higgs (Nanticoke), Jordan Houseman (Pittston Area), Zach Kollar (Hanover Area), T.J. Lashock (Berwick), Josh McClain (Tunkhannock), Kyle Miller (Berwick), Will Morales (Berwick), Greg Petorak (Dallas), Elliot Snyder (Crestwood), Brian Stepniak (Dallas) and Ty Weiss (Tunkhannock).

Three Wyoming Valley West players — Nick Hogan, Mike Leonard and Joe Pechulis — were selected but will not participate because their season is still going on. The Spartans play Exeter in the first round of the PIAA Class 4A tournament at 4:30 p.m. Monday at Pittston Area’s field in Hughestown.

The LBL roster includes Mike Best (Dunmore), James Brown (North Pocono), Liam Callejas (Valley View), Carmen Dellia (Mid Valley), Nick Demian (Mid Valley), Chris Gaetano (Scranton Prep), Alex Judge (Scranton), Pete Kelly (Honesdale), Kevin Klatt (Dunmore), John Kranick (Valley View), Pete Murazzi (Lackawanna Trail), Billy Nelson (North Pocono), Alec Parchinski (Riverside), Chris Rebar (Mid Valley), Vic Rosa (Lackawanna Trail), Matt Sompel (Scranton Prep), Matt Staback (Valley View), Zach Stauffer (Delaware Valley), Dylan Thomas (Mountain View) and Billy Williams (Valley View).

Members of the three LBL district champions — Tyler Brady (Lakeland), David Chromey (Old Forge), Kevin Elwell (Abington Heights), Eric Grabowski (Lakeland), Joey Natale (Lakeland), Josh Slocum (Abington Heights) and Mike Vieira (Old Forge) — were picked but will not play ahead of their PIAA games on Monday.

comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Mortgage Minute

Search for New & Used Cars

Used New All

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals

Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds