Friday, July 25, 2014

Haggerty, Tuzinski among mayoral race winners

November 06. 2013 12:27AM

Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

The largest voting body in Tuesday’s general election chose incumbent Jim Haggerty as its mayor, giving him 1,211 votes, unofficial results show.

Haggerty returns for his fifth term as mayor of Kingston. He beat Democratic nominee Curt Piazza, who won 464 votes.

Piazza’s platform promising to empower Kingston’s citizenry and improve public perception of the borough’s police department, which is recovering from a payroll scandal earlier this year, could not stand against Haggerty’s reputation for securing millions in grants for improvement projects and his integral role in regionalizing Kingston’s fire department with Forty Fort’s.

Just under the Cross-Valley overpass, Kingston’s eastern neighbors in Forty Fort chose the package deal, voting to give Andy Tuzinski, who campaigned with high vote-getting council candidates Dottie Craig, Jeff McLaughlin and Rob Swaback. Tuzinski, coming in with 494 votes, overtook his opponent, Patrick Meade, by 60 votes. Tuzinski had served as council president, and temporarily filled the mayor’s chair in 2005 when acting Mayor Boyd Hoats Sr. died unexpectedly.

In Swoyersville, incumbent Mayor Vincent Dennis took 415 votes over his opponent, independent Chris Concert, jumping on the ticket post-primary elections. Concert received 342 votes.

Going into the race, Concert, who will enter his third year as a borough councilman in January, said he did not have high expectations for a win, but called his candidacy a “stepping stone.”

Former Harveys Lake Mayor Richard A. Boice received about half of Harveys Lake voters’ approval in the primary election, winning 131 votes to his opponent incumbent Clarence Hogan’s 135. Voter confidence in Boice seems to have slipped since May.

Boice, executive director of the Harveys Lake General Municipal Authority, is to appear in district court later this month on charges he and two other borough employees used $800 in municipal funds for personal purchases.

Hogan claimed the race as top vote-getter with 352 votes. Boice got 293.

Other contested mayoral races were:


Clarence E. Lewis (R) 112 | Beverly Moore (D) 115


William A. Davis (R) 108 | Dominick A. Panetta (D) 84


Dawn M. Holohan (R) 102 | Frederick J. Meier (D) 114

Uncontested Mayoral races were:

ASHLEY: David J. Evans

AVOCA: Robert J. Mullen

BEAR CREEK VILLAGE: Walter S. Mitchell Jr.

CONYNGHAM: Joseph Carrelli

COURTDALE: Dorothy A. Duesler

DALLAS: Timothy J. Carroll

DUPONT: Daniel A. Lello

DURYEA: Keith Alan Moss

EDWARDSVILLE: Bernard ‘Ace’ Dubaskas

EXETER: Cassandra I. Coleman

FREELAND: Ed Appleman


LARKSVILLE: Joe Zawadski

LAUREL RUN: Justin M. Correll

LUZERNE: James Keller

NANTICOKE: Richie Wiaterowski

NEW COLUMBUS: Allen E. Chapin

NESCOPECK: Tim Kelchner

NUANGOLA: Norman Rule

PLYMOUTH: Dorothy Petrosky

PITTSTON: Jason C. Klush

WEST HAZLETON: Frank A. Schmidt


WEST WYOMING: Joseph T. Herbert

WYOMING: Bob Boyer


comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Mortgage Minute

Search for New & Used Cars

Used New All

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals

Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds