Last updated: April 25. 2013 4:50PM - 577 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:


Tom Walter and Andrew Gialanella, both of Dallas, are among 34 students from Luzerne County Community College who will be included in the 2012-13 edition of “Who’s Who among Students in American Junior Colleges.”

Students are selected for the publication based on academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success.


Five Back Mountain students have been initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors.

Initiated into the society were Thomas Machovec, Dallas; Marissa Gallagher, Wyoming; Jill Jackson, Shavertown; Stephanie Zeiler, Dallas; and Shauna Phillips, Dallas.


Chad Schraeder, of Dallas, has been initiated into Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines, at Pennsylvania State University.


Several Back Mountain residents were among 43 students enrolled in the weekend and weekday occupational therapy master’s degree programs at Misericordia University who received their pins and presented their group research projects during the annual Graduate Research Presentation Conference in Sandy and Marlene Insalaco Hall on campus.

They are Matthew Cash, OTS, Harveys Lake; Susan Smaka, OTS, Shavertown; Jaclyn Tschantz, Tunkhannock; and Jane Zak, OTS, Dallas.


Dr. Stephen Cheskiewicz, of Harveys Lake, successfully defended his doctoral dissertation, “Student Perceptions of Computer Science and Information and Communications Technology Programs” on Wednesday, April 17.

Dr. Cheskiewicz received the Doctor of Education degree from the Educational Leadership/Educational Technology program at Wilkes University.


Catherine Sullivan, daughter of Peggy and Fred Sullivan, of Lehman, has been named a 2012-2013 Outstanding Undergraduate Scholar during a ceremony April 11 at Rochester Institute of Technology.

Sullivan is a fourth-year student in the Computer Science - BS program.

Outstanding Undergraduate Scholarship Awards are presented to students who have achieved the distinction of maintaining a minimum university grade point average of 3.85 out of a possible 4.0 and completed at least 125 quarter credit hours of study, nearly two-thirds of the credit hours required for a baccalaureate degree.


Misericordia University students who participated in a spring break service trip include Koryn Henry, of Shavertown; Katie Serino, of Shavertown; Sabrina Alles, of Dallas; and Rachel Alles, of Dallas.


John C. Metz, Jr., CEO, executive chef and co-founder of Sterling Spoon Culinary Management, has been honored as a 2013 Silver Plate Award recipient by the International Facility Management Association (IFMA), which recognizes excellence in eight segments of foodservice operations.

Metz, Jr. is the second member of his family to win an IFMA Silver Plate Award, widely recognized as the most coveted operator award in the foodservice industry. His father, Metz Culinary Management founder and Executive Chairman John C. Metz was named an IFMA Silver Plate Award recipient in 1979.

As one of the eight Silver Plate winners, Metz, Jr. will be eligible for the 2013 IFMA Gold Plate Award, which will be announced at the 59th annual Gold & Silver Plate Awards Celebration on May 20 in Chicago.


Penn State Wilkes-Barre students who participated in Penn State Powerful Women Paving The Way conference at Smeal College are AnnMarie Wempa, Trucksville; Julie Haller, Dallas; and Jill O’Connell, Dallas.

The Powerful Women Paving the Way conference is a professional development opportunity with a personal touch and is an opportunity to interact with successful alumni.


Matthew Fuhr and Gregory Davis, both of Dallas, were among Penn State Wilkes-Barre business students in MKTG330: Consumer Behavior who participated in the Third Annual Penn State Regional Undergraduate Research Symposium at Penn State Hazleton.

The symposium communicates and celebrates the participation of undergraduate students from the eastern regional Penn State campuses in their scholarly research endeavors.


Among Wyoming Seminary students who participated in the 2013 Moot Court Tournament are senior Alaina Schukraft, Dallas; senior Spencer Norris, Dallas; and freshman Samarth Desai, Shavertown.


Senior Tyler Harvey, of Trucksville, and sophomore Adam Rinehouse, of Shavertown, were among 11 Wyoming Seminary Upper School students recently selected to perform in district, regional and state band and orchestra festivals.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com