Last updated: March 16. 2013 8:12PM - 626 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) 2013 Region 16 Leadership Conference was held Jan. 3 at Luzerne County Community College. FBLA Chapters from E.L. Meyers, Hanover Area, Hazleton Area, James M. Coughlin, Lake-Lehman, MMI Preparatory, Pittston Area, West Side CTC, Wyoming Area and Wyoming Valley West attended with close to 500 students competing in business-related events. Top finishers in each event will advance to the Pennsylvania State Leadership Conference in April in Hershey. The national competition will be held in Anaheim, Calif., in June. The conference concluded with the awards ceremony with master of ceremonies, D.J. Bob Sosar from Harry C. Productions. The following students were also elected to next year's regional officer team: Rene Rismondo, president, Lake-Lehman; Corey Hauser, vice president, Coughlin; Stephanie Pudish, secretary, MMI; and Rachel Paisley, treasurer, Hazleton Area. Advisers of Region 16 are Laura Barletta, Hazleton Area High School, and Allison Yourechko and Diana Alichnie, both of Dallas High School. First-place winners (above), from left, first row: Melanie Suarez, Hazleton; Rachel Paisley, Hazleton; Brittany Faux and Alexander Hoyt, Lake-Lehman; Hannah Plaza, Hazleton; Lisa Guido, Wyoming Area; Julia Kerr, Emmalie Langan and Samantha Middleton, Meyers; and Jennifer Jarnutowski and Layne Miller, Hazleton. Second row: Josie Zapotosky, Hazleton; Sarah Velehoski, Pittston; Morgan Moser, West Side CTC; Sal Polit, Wyoming Area; Tyler Bartnick, Hanover Area; Mikel Cammisa and Brianna Dalesandro, Hazleton; Geraldine Grullon, Hazleton; and Christy Havrilla, Hannah Levine and Morgan Stahr, Hazleton. Third row: Charlie Burrows and Vanessa Delahanty, Hazleton; Julie Green, Wyoming Valley West; Candace Ferrari, A.J. Gasser and Brandon Kotansky, Hazleton; Gabriella Lobitz, MMI; Mathew Balon, Hanover Area; Devon Sherwood, MMI; Marianne Virnelson, MMI; and Kyra DePersia, Hazleton. Fourth row: Timothy Reams, Wyoming Valley West; Julia Rudenko, Hazleton; Nikolas Lecce, Wyoming Valley West; Vincent Hornak, Hazleton; Joseph Arnone, Allen Bonk and Joshua Crackett, Meyers; and Alexis Harry, Amanda Mathers and Kaitlyn Yonski, Lake-Lehman. Fifth row: Karlee Naylon, Briana Papp and Cassie Papp, Hazleton; Conor Gallagher, Meyers; Alexis Brown, Meyers; Erin O'Day, Coughlin; Ian Nelson, West Side CTC; and Michelle Chavez, Christa Franckiewicz, Olivia Richards and Morgan Prince, Meyers. Sixth row: Andrew Coco, Wyoming Area; Bailey McDaniels, Meyers; Victoria Herbener, Hazleton; Jesse Plaksa, MMI; Michael Harding, Wyoming Area; Jason Spevak, Hazleton Area; Stephen Via, Wyoming Valley West; and Angela Beseda, West Side CTC. Other winners were: Abby Goffa, Hazleton; Breanne Lloyd, Coughlin; and Ashley Heffner, West Side CTC. Judges (below, left), from left, first row: Ashlee Danko, CPA, Balavage & McNulty Co.; Elysia Balavage, adjunct professor, King's College; Carol Bosack, director, Career Services, Wilkes University; Connie Toporcer, director, Technical and Internet Services, LCCC; and Sandra Norton, network manager, LCCC. Second row: Kate Jenkins, associate professor, LCCC; Andrea Balavage, CPA, Balavage & McNulty Co.; Chris Alichnie, chair and professor emerita, Bloomsburg University; Dr. Gary Mrozinski, dean, Business and Technology, LCCC; Todd Johnson, graduate student, Marywood University; Lisa Lutecki, staff, LCCC; Sue Spry, vice president, Workforce Development, LCCC. More judges (below, right), from left, first row: Lori Kane, community relations specialist, McCann School of Business and Technology; Wayne Wesley, retired educator, Wilkes-Barre Area School District; Brenda DeWire, educator and PA FBLA Board of Directors, Central Columbia High School; Paula Bowman, Career Services, LCCC; Bill Balavage, CPA, Balavage & McNulty Co. Second row: John Sedlak, dean, Human Resources, LCCC; Ken Kirk, retired educator, LCCC; Leann Pace, community relations specialist, ITT; Susan Gilroy-King, adjunct professor, LCCC; and Harry Miller, Wilkes-Barre Area CTC.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com