Last updated: February 19. 2013 8:26PM - 699 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

By state law, public school district school boards must hold reorganization meetings the first week of December to elect officers.

Appointment of the president can be particularly meaningful because the president appoints members to various committees, can call special meetings, and can control what items appear on meeting agendas.

The meetings are often brief, with little other action, but Hanover Area School Board learned the superintendent is retiring.

Here's a roundup of some reorganization meetings held Monday.

Hanover Area

HANOVER TWP. -- Superintendent Anthony Podczasy announced his plans to retire during Monday's regular school board meeting. After 36 years of serving the Hanover School District as a teacher, administrator and superintendent, I will retire June 30, 2013, Podczasy said. He pointed out that the district will begin searching for a new superintendent and urged everyone to take the Superintendent's Search Survey which is available on the district website: www.hanoverarea.org through Dec. 14. The board voted unanimously to appoint Evelyn Evans as the new board president and Joe Steininger as the vice president during a reorganization that preceded the regular meeting. Working with (the board) is a pleasure, said Evans, who is the first female board president in the history of the district. We have our disagreements at times, but they are a great team. The number one priority is the safety and education of our students and I welcome input from the public.

The board also voted:

To appoint Kevin Quaglia as the Pennsylvania School Board Association Legislation Representative.

Set the date and time for the regular monthly work session for the first Monday of each month at 6 p.m.

Set the date and time for the regular monthly meeting for the first Thursday of each month at 7 p.m.

During the regular meeting, the board voted to appoint the following extracurricular personnel as recommended by the athletic director: Denise Allen, Jr. High Girls Basketball at $2,628; Harry Barber, JV Boys Basketball at $2,822; William Gagliardi, Asst. Varsity Swim at $1,494 and Randy Shoemaker, Asst. Varsity Wrestling, unpaid.

Wilkes-Barre Area

WILKES-BARRE – John Quinn was elected Wilkes-Barre Area School Board President and Louis Elmy vice president Monday night along a 5-4 split that has developed on many issues in the board.

Quinn and Lynn Evans were nominees for president while Elmy and James Susek were proposed for vice president. Quinn and Elmy joined Dino Galella, Phil Latinski and John Corcoran in electing the two, who replace MaryAnne Toole as president and Lynn Evans as vice president. Toole, Evans, Susek and Christine Katsock, often in the majority until recent months, voted for Evans and Susek to fill the posts.

Elmy was then nominated and unanimously approved as contact for the PSBA. Susek and Latinski were unanimously approved as board representatives on the Joint Operating Committee that runs the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technology Center. The Center serves five districts, with the JOC comprised of representatives from those district school boards.

The board also unanimously agreed to hold regular meetings on the second Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m., with a committee meeting at 5:30 p.m.


LEHMAN TWP. – Mark Kornoski was reelected president by one vote over Andrew Salko. Walter Glogowski was named first Vice President, and Dr. Kevin Carey was elected second Vice President. Treasurer was left to be filled at a later meeting.

Committee chairpersons were appointed: Dr. Carey, curriculum and instruction; David Paulauskas, athletics and activities; James Welby, buildings and grounds; Richard Bombick, transportation; Karen Masters, support services; Glogowski, to finance.

Masters was appointed as representative to the PSBA, and Glogowski was named as her alternate. Paulauskas was appointed to the JOC that runs the West Side Career and Technology Center for a term that runs to 2015. The JOC is comprised of members from the five school boards of member districts at West Side.

The board moved regular meetings from the third Monday of each month to the second Monday of each month.

Welby asked if three meetings scheduled at the elementary schools were necessary. He said that the facilities are not the same and that it proves an inconvenience to set up. Superintendent James McGovern said that the meetings are held at those locations to showcase the schools to board members and make it easier for nearby residents to attend a meeting. No final decision was made.

The next meeting of the Lake-Lehman School Board will be held on December 17 at 7 p.m. in the high school library.

Wyoming Valley West

KINGSTON – Gordon Dussinger was elected president and Joseph Mazur vice president. I consider this a real honor, Dussinger said, adding that he has confidence in the quality and direction of the district.

John Gill will represent WVW on the West Side Career and Technology Center's JOC, James Fender will be board representative to the Plymouth Public Library, Dussinger will be representative to the Hoyt Public Library, and Brian Dubaskas will serve as the contact for the PSBA's Pride and Promise program, with Gary Evans serving as alternate, and Thomas Pieczynski serving as PSBA liaison.

Dussinger and David Usavage voted against a resolution to review possible changes to the district's instrumental music program. After the meeting, Superintendent Charles Suppon explained that the resolution would allow the administration to consider how small group and individualized music instruction was being taught in the district. He said that there possibly could be an elimination of a position depending on their findings.


Dr. Richard Coslett was elected president, Dr. Bruce Goeringer vice president and Colleen Slocum assistant secretary. Larry Schuler was appointed representative to the West Side Career and Technology Center JOC.

The board also heard another report from Crabtree, Rohrbaugh & Associates Architects on a feasibility study being conducted to determine what steps should be taken at Dallas Elementary. The school, built in 1972, was not intended as a permanent building and has developed recurring problems over the years.

The study is intended to give the board a full set of options, including renovations, partial replacement or full replacement. Another report is expected at the regular meeting Dec. 10.

Greater Nanticoke Area

Ryan Verazin was elected board president, replacing Jeff Kozlofski. Ken James was re-elected vice president.

-- Camille Fioti -- Mark Guydish -- Megan Schneider -- Susan Denney

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com