Last updated: February 19. 2013 8:58PM - 498 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

WILKES-BARRE – Wilkes University will induct six individuals into its Athletics Hall of Fame in a ceremony Saturday, Jan. 26, following a Freedom Conference basketball doubleheader at the Marts Center.

The 20th class of inductees includes Chad Fabian, Robyn Mendygral, Tony Couto, Cathy Dudick, Amy Rosengrant and Cesar Vinces.

A 2000 graduate, Fabian is one of the most decorated shooters in Wilkes men's basketball storied history. He finished his time as a Colonel with 1,295 points, 14th on the school's all-time scoring list.

Mendygral holds five career records and five single-season records from her time on the softball team. She is first in career records of batting average (.435), runs (141), triples (18), sacrifice hits (17), and stolen bases (62), while setting single-season marks in runs (41), slugging percentage (.836), stolen bases (25), and on-base percentage (.540).

A four-year letter winner, Couto was a three-time All-MAC selection at middle linebacker and was the Middle Atlantic Conference Most Valuable Player in 1977. Couto was the first Wilkes defensive player in school history to win the award.

A three-year captain and letterwoman for the volleyball team, Dudick recorded a school-record 318 service aces while breaking the single-match aces record when she posted 17 against Scranton in 1982.

Rosengrant was a two-time first team All-Freedom selection, recording a 1.74 career earned run average during her time on the softball team. Rosengrant posted a 31-16 career record with four saves and seven shutouts throughout her career, finishing with 169 strikeouts.

A three-time All-Freedom selection, Vinces was named an NSCAA Regional All-American honorable mention as a senior after recording five goals and six assists in 20 games. He was also named first team All-Freedom and All-Mid Atlantic third team.

MU's Helmstetter's continues accomplishments

Misericordia women's soccer standout Sam Helmstetter has been named to the MAC 100 All-Century Team.

Helmstetter was named to the 2003-2011 era team. All-Century Teams were selected from an online fan vote combined with the MAC Sports Information Directors vote.

During her career, she was a four-time first-team All-Freedom selection, a two-time Freedom Conference Player of the Year, and the Freedom Rookie of the Year in 2009, a four-time NSCAA All-Region selection, and a two-time NSCAA All-American, including a first-team selection this year.

The second-leading scorer in MU history, Helmstetter ended her career with 122 points, set the school record with 34 career assists and is third all-time with 44 goals.

Hazleton Area splits with Governor Mifflin

The Hazleton Area girls bowling team scored a win against Governor Mifflin 4-0 while the boys team fell by the score of 4-0.

Alyssa Balicki had the highest series for the Cougars with a 659 as well as a game-high of 245. Miranda Sosar had a 505 series for the winners, while Shannon Smith rolled a 496 series.

Stephen LaBuda led the boys in the loss with a game of 245 and a series of 699, while Anthony Sidari follwed with a 243 game and 640 series. Dave Shutovich added a 614 series.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com