Cycling Ireland votes against McQuaid

June 25th, 2015 12:56 am

First Posted: 6/15/2013

DUBLIN — Pat McQuaid’s chances of winning a third term as president of the International Cycling Union took a hit Saturday when he failed to secure the nomination of his own national body.

Cycling Ireland voted 91-74 against endorsing McQuaid at an hour-long extraordinary general meeting in Dublin, leaving the Irishman to rely on his much-criticized nomination for the UCI presidency by the Swiss cycling federation last month.

“As the result indicates, it was a very close call,” said Cycling Ireland chief executive Geoff Liffey, speaking after a vote made by representatives of 60 Irish clubs.

McQuaid’s future as the head of world cycling’s governing body — a position he has held for eight years — has been clouded since the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency report last year that led to Lance Armstrong being banned for life from cycling and stripped of his seven Tour de France titles

USADA alleged the UCI helped cover up some suspicious samples from the American. Although McQuaid has denied the claims, his reputation has been tarnished and he has been accused of closing his eyes to the endemic doping culture in the sport.

Praise for his role in introducing the biological passport, which monitors an athlete’s blood profile over time to look for signs of cheating, is wearing thin.

McQuaid is facing a challenge for re-election in September, from Brian Cookson — the head of British Cycling.

McQuaid’s endorsement by Swiss Cycling is also facing a legal challenge from three of the body’s members.

Sagan wins stage 8; Frank retains lead

BAD RAGAZ, Switzerland — Slovakian rider Peter Sagan won stage eight of the Tour de Suisse and Mathias Frank retained the yellow jersey on Saturday heading into the final day individual time trial.

Sagan, who rides for Cannondale, beat Daniele Bennati in a sprint finish at the end of a 111-mile stage from Zernoz to Bad Ragaz.

Frank, a Swiss rider for BMC Racing, finished in the main group and holds a 13-second lead on Rui Alberto Costa with one stage left.