Wilkes students inducted into biology honor society as associate members

December 28th, 2017 6:00 am

Wilkes University recently inducted 12 students as associate members into the Theta Delta Chapter of the Beta Beta Beta national biological honor society. An additional 15 students were inducted as full members. Full members are juniors or seniors who have completed at least 16 credits in biology with at least a 3.25 grade point average and a 3.0 overall GPA. Associate members are sophomores and juniors who have completed fewer than 16 biology credits with at least a 3.25 grade point average and a 3.0 overall GPA. Beta Beta Beta was founded in 1922 at Oklahoma City University by Dr. Frank G. Brooks and his students. The idea of an honor society and professional society for biology students spread and by 1925 the society became a national organization. The Theta Delta Chapter was installed at Wilkes in 2001. Shown are associate members, from left, first row: Dr. Valerie G. Kalter, faculty advisor, Emily Kamieniecki, Emily Rusavage, Kelly Shultz, Niharika Gupta. Second row: Harrison Eckert, Nicholas Hudock, Carter Whittemore, Michael Kovalick, Sean Kshir, Bridget Regan.