Hazleton Area, Tunkhannock, Redeemer lead WVC softball coaches’ all-stars

Times Leader | June 22nd, 2017 8:10 pm

To the victors go the spoils.

Five members of the state finalist Hazleton Area and Tunkhannock softball teams and five more from Division 3 champion Holy Redeemer were selected to the Wyoming Valley Conference Coaches All-Star first teams, which were released this week.

Hazleton Area freshman third baseman Tiana Treon was chosen as the Division 1 MVP, while teammates Hope Kinney, Megan Trivelpiece, Taylor Kaschak and star pitcher Erika Book made the division’s first team after leading the Cougars to the District 2 Class 6A title and into their first-ever PIAA championship game.

Wyoming Valley West’s Audrea Welles was named the Division 1 Player of the Year as the Spartans placed four players on the Division 1 first team, as did Pittston Area.

In Division 2, Hope Jones and Kendra Schultz — who provided a one-two punch in the pitcher’s circle for PIAA Class 4A runner-up Tunkhannock — were chosen as the league’s co-Players of the Year. They join Tigers teammates Paige Mokychic, Jenna Simmons and Faith Jones on the Division 2 first team.

Nanticoke Area’s Miranda Bohn and Jenna Lipowski from Division 2 season champion Nanticoke Area were chosen as co-MVPs.

Two-time state champion Holy Redeemer missed the PIAA playoffs this year with an extra-innings loss in the District 2 playoffs, but Division 3 MVP Morgan Bienkowski spearheaded the drive to another unbeaten regular season and league title.

She joins co-Player of the Year Brittany Hebda, fellow pitcher Kristen Coffay, Tiana Wren and Sam Rajza as Royals representatives on the Divison 3 first team.

Lake-Lehman’s Cassandra Konopki was also chosen as a Division 3 co-Player of the Year and was among three Black Knights selected to the first team.

Here is a full list of the WVC Coaches All-Star teams:

Division 1

First Team

Tori Martin, SS, Coughlin; Sydney Sobolewski, C, Crestwood; Hope Kinney, C, Hazleton Area; Megan Trivelpiece, 1B, Hazleton Area; x-Tiana Treon, 3B, Hazleton; Taylor Kaschak, 2B, Hazleton Area; Erika Book, P, Hazleton Area; Alexa McHugh, P, Pittston Area; Lexi Felinski, 2B, Pittston Area; Gabby Para, OF, Pittston Area; Nina Cencetti, P, Pittston Area; y-Audrea Welles, C, Wyoming Valley West; Payton Boler, 2B, Wyoming Valley West; Jaden Belles, SS, Wyoming Valley West; Mandi Zawadzki, 1B, Wyoming Valley West.

Second Team

Molly Poray, Coughlin; Mady Heller, Crestwood; Marissa Trivelpiece, Hazleton Area; Rebecca Rossi, Hazleton Area; Morgan Mesaris, Pittston Area; Madisyn Antal, Pittston Area; Taryn Ashby, Pittston Area; Shayla Williams, Pittston Area; Katie Rincavage, Wyoming Valley West; Erin Gibbons, Wyoming Valley West; Colleen Cwalina, Wyoming Valley West; Morgan Klosko, Wyoming Valley West.

Division 2

First Team

x-Miranda Bohn, P, Nanticoke Area; Jenna Lipowski, Nanticoke Area; y-Hope Jones, P, Tunkhannock; y-Kendra Schultz, P, Tunkhannock; Maddie Kelley, P, Dallas; Jess Parente, C, Wyoming Area; Peyton Ross, C, Dallas; Kylie Levan, P, Berwick; Faith Jones, SS, Tunkhannock; Sammy Starr, SS, Berwick; Jenna Simmons, 3B, Tunkhannock; Kriti Skok, 3B, Wyoming Area; Gianna Spaciano, OF, Dallas; Kiera Brown, OF, Nanticoke Area; Paige Mokychic, OF, Tunkhannock.

Second Team

Cassidy Graham, Wyoming Area; Gwen Glatz, Wyoming Area; Dani Krispin, Tunkhannock; Morgan Briggs, Nanticoke Area; Brook Stout, Berwick; Cassie Novakowski, Nanticoke Area; Jenn Bulford, Tunkhannock; Kendra Saba, Dallas; Christina Schappert, Dallas; Alison Francis, Dallas; Sarah Traver, Tunkhannock; Kari Melberger, Wyoming Area.

Honorable Mention

Tunkhannock — Hailey Farr, Erin Dunn; Nanticoke Area — Jillian Baran, Gabbie Rakowski, Brinley Sobeck, Megan Murphy; Wyoming Area — Bri Pizzano, Ann Karcutski, Julia Kopetchney, Nicole Silinskie; Dallas — Mia Dixon.

Division 3

First Team

x-Morgan Bienkowski, P, Holy Redeemer; Kristen Coffay, P, Holy Redeemer; Abby Hogan, P, Lake Lehman; Nicole Cragle, 1B, Northwest; Sam Rajza, 2B, Holy Redeemer; y-Cassandra Konopki, SS, Lake-Lehman; y-Brittany Hebda. 3B, Holy Redeemer; Tiana Wren, OF, Holy Redeemer; Brooke Harvey, OF, Northwest; Ashley Bruno, OF, Meyers; Chloe VanGorder, C, Lake-Lehman; McKenzie Malys, Utility, GAR.

Second Team

Delany Romanchick, P, Wyoming Seminary; Alexis Bruno, P, Meyers; Meghan Armstrong, 1B, Holy Redeemer; Karly Bennett, 2B, Hanover Area; Trista Babcock, SS, Northwest; Brenna Babcock, 3B, Northwest; Allyson Laiuvara, OF, Holy Redeemer; Emily Smith, OF, Lake-Lehman; Aubrey Mytych, OF, Wyoming Seminary; Abby Shorts, C, Holy Redeemer; Erin Morris, Utility, Meyers.

Honorable Mention

Wyoming Seminary — Melinda Holena, Alicia Carr; Hanover Area — Emily Bobos; Northwest — Courtney Cragle, Payge Wufsus; GAR — Rachael Stucker, Nataliya Scarantino; Meyers — Abbi Sattof, Dakota Zyskowski, Sara Morris; MMI Prep — Maddie Perchak MMI.

x — MVP

y — Player of the Year


Times Leader

Reach Times Leader sports at 570-829-7143 or on Twitter @ TLSports