Basketball seniors get final chance to shine

By John Erzar - [email protected] | March 31st, 2017 8:35 am

The annual Dr. George P. Moses Senior All-Star Classic will be held Friday at Holy Redeemer High School.

The games feature the top senior basketball players in Wyoming Valley Conference. The girls game starts at 6:30 p.m. The boys game follows at 8 p.m. Proceeds are donated via the Wyoming Valley Athletic Association to families and individuals needing help with medical expenses.

Crestwood’s Mark Atherton and Meyers’ Pat Toole will coach a boys team with the following players: Lance Blass, Kyle Gegaris, Noah Jackson and Kyle Richards, Crestwood; Andrew Campbell and Keyshawn Palmer, GAR; Tyler Diggs and Luis Rivera, Hanover Area; Matt Dessoye, Ryan Gilgallon and Levaugn Soules, Meyers; Luke Butczynski and Cody Piestrak, Nanticoke; Mitchell Mazonkey, Northwest; and Avery Newhart, Tunkhannock.

The other boys team will be coached by Wyoming Seminary’s C.J. Kersey and Pittston Area’s Alan Keisinger. Players selected were: Matt Champ and Jude Goddard, Berwick; Charles Cobbs, Coughlin; Michael Cusatis and Nolan Genasevich, Hazleton Area; James Kosik and Jason Stachokus, Holy Redeemer; Cole Spencer, Lake-Lehman; Kyle Williams, MMI Prep; Chris Klein and Pat Mitchell, Pittston Area; Anthony Nardell and Tony Saitta, Wyoming Area; Johnny Kehl, Wyoming Seminary; and Aaron Austin and Sean Judge, Wyoming Valley West.

Wyoming Valley West’s Gary Ferenchick and Wyoming Area’s Chad Lojewski will coach a girls team with the following players: Tori Talanca and Mikayla Davis, Berwick; Maria Bednar, Maddie Kelley and Sara Lojewski, Dallas; Janelle Cawley, Lake-Lehman; Riley Klepadlo, Kayla Aufiero and Alexis Pyzia, Nanticoke; Lydia Edwards and Katie Wolfgang, Wyoming Area; and Erin Gibbons, Natalie Gruver, Gabby Smicherko and Colleen Cwalina, Wyoming Valley West.

Pittston Area’s Kathy Healey will coach the other girls teams. Players include: Emily Cicon and Claire Curtis, Coughlin; Kate Snipas, Crestwood; Cierra Taylor, GAR; Kendra Pfeil and Megan Trivelpiece, Hazleton Area; Maya Kornfeld, Talia Kosierowski and Randie Kuhar, Holy Redeemer; Gia Skaff and Devon Keiper, Meyers; Taryn Ashby, Kristen Durling and Ellie Bartoli, Pittston Area; Sydney Faux and Josie Frisco, Tunkhannock.

By John Erzar

[email protected]

Reach John Erzar at 570-991-6394 or on Twitter @TLJohnErzar